UNC SOM Academy of Educators Names 2021-22 Teaching Award Recipients

The Educator Academy, housed within the School of Medicine’s Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development, presented 12 faculty members with teaching awards.

The Academy of Educators (AOE) of the UNC School of Medicine has created a number of teaching awards to recognize the importance of excellence in medical education, increase the prestige of great educators and making teaching a more viable part of a faculty member’s academic career path.

The selection committee has announced the 2021-22 winners, who are:

Foundation Phase Teaching Excellence Award

Application/Individualization Phase Clinical Preceptor Teaching Excellence Award (for non-UNC hospital faculty)

  • Nick Jernigan (pediatrics)

Mentor/Educational Advisor Award

  • Justin Myers (emergency medicine)

Educational Innovation Award

  • Carolyn Quinsey (Neurosurgery)

Faculty Teaching Resident/Scholar Award

Junior Faculty Award

  • Catherine Coe (family medicine)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education

  • Christopher Klipstein (internal medicine)

Professor Craver Award

  • Karen Kimel-Scott (internal medicine)
  • Ria Dancel (Medicine/Paediatrics)

Distinguished Medical Graduate Teaching Professor

  • Nikki Binz (emergency medicine)
  • Koyal Jain (nephrology)
  • Kelly Smith (family medicine)

Each participant was honored at the annual Alan W. Cross Scholarship Evening on May 19, 2022 by AOE Committee Chair, Brent Senior, MD, FACS, FARS. Click here to read award descriptions and learn more about the Educator Academy.

If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected]

Comments are closed.